Municipal Volunteer Program

Noelridge Greenhouse Volunteer
IMG_9609 - Copy

Adult Volunteer Opportunities
Animal Care and Control
 
Love furry friends? Cedar Rapids Animal Care & Control welcomes volunteers who want to make a contribution to the welfare of animals in our community. Volunteers play a crucial role helping care for animals, assisting with front desk duties, fundraisers, or providing walks and socialization for the animals at Animal Care & Control. Click here to learn more or contact Michelle Johnson at 319-286-5993 or by email AnimalControlMgmt@cedar-rapids.org.


CleanUpCR
CleanUpCR is a collaborative program designed to provide residents and businesses with the resources to keep Cedar Rapids a clean, healthy place to live. Click here to find out more about various CleanUP initiatives, including the City Manager's One Bag Challenge. Contact Vincent Snyder at 319-286-5897 or by email Solid-Waste-Recycling@cedar-rapids.org.


Library
The Cedar Rapids Public Library Volunteer Program supports and enriches the library by engaging community volunteers through meaningful volunteer opportunities. Whether you care for materials, greet customers, or help with children’s programs, there is a flexible opportunity for you. Volunteer opportunities are available for adults, families, teens, retirees, and small groups; you can volunteer at the Downtown or Ladd Library. Find out more here. Contact Jessica Link, Volunteer Coordinator at 319-739-0403 or by email linkj@crlibrary.org.


 Public Works
The City of Cedar Rapids offers a number of ways individuals or groups can help protect and restore our natural surface water resources. By volunteering you can help make a difference in the health of our streams, lakes and the Cedar River. Remember, protecting our waterways starts with you.


Storm Drain Markers
Storm drain markers are colorful, plastic curb markers are used to remind everyone that if you pour something down a storm drain or into a gutter, it is just as though you poured it directly into a local lake, stream or the Cedar River. Help the City mark the storm drains so everyone that sees them will remember - only rain should go down the drain. Fill out our application, or contact Cara Matteson at 319-286-5604 or c.matteson@cedar-rapids.org for more information.

Adopt-a-storm drain
Sign up to adopt-a-storm drain near your work or home, committing to keeping them clear of leaves and other debris year round. Clearing storm drains of debris keeps these materials from reaching receiving waters as well as keeps storm drains from clogging which helps prevent local flooding. Fill out our application, or contact Cara Matteson at 319-286-5604 or c.matteson@cedar-rapids.org for more information.


Parks and Recreation
Volunteers are an integral element to the Parks and Recreation Department. The Department uses many volunteers to help maintain golf courses, plant and weed gardens, keep our parks clean and beautiful, assist with special events, coach a sports team, and more. Learn more and apply to volunteer with Parks and Rec.

Golf -  Lisa Grekoff 319-286-5588 l.grekoff@cedar-rapids.org
Noelridge Greenhouse -  Lori Farmer 319-286-5760 or L.Farmer@cedar-rapids.org
Parks - Heather Vasquez 319-286-5750 or H.Vasquez@cedar-rapids.org
Special Populations - Rob Wagner at 319-286-5799 or r.wagner@cedar-rapids.org
Ushers Ferry Historic Village - Ann Cejka at 319-286-5763 or a.cejka@cedar-rapids.org
Youth Sports - Grant Weber at 319-286-5698 or g.weber@cedar-rapids.org.


Bicycle Ambassador
Is bicycling your passion?  Volunteer to help with our annual Bike to Work Week event (typically held in May) by contacting Ron Griffith at R.Griffith@cedar-rapids.org or 319-286-5154. Additional bike-related opportunities can be found with Linn County Trails Association and Linn Area Mountain Bike Association

© 2021  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login