City Boards and Commissions

Contact Information:
Housing Inspection Division
500 15th Ave SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Phone: 319-286-5197

Staff Liaison 
Shannon Day
Phone: 319-286-5103


Any person directly affected by a decision of the Code Official or a notice or order issued under this Code shall have the right to appeal to the Housing Board of Appeals, provided that a written application for appeal is filed within 20 days after the date of the initial notice of violation or order under this Code. An application for appeal shall be based on a claim that the true intent of the Code or the rules legally adopted thereunder have been incorrectly interpreted, the provisions of this Code do not fully apply, or the requirements of this Code are adequately satisfied by other means. The Housing Board of Appeals shall have no authority to waive the requirements of this Code.

Meeting Information

The Board meets the first Wednesday of each month at 1:00 p.m. unless there are no appeals. Meetings are held at the City Services Center, 500 15th Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404.


Application for Appeal

Requests for an appeal must be received in our office within 20 days from the date of the notice or order and must be accompanied by the appropriate filing fee. Payment must be made at the time of application.

Initial application - $50.00
Successive appeal items - $10.00



The Housing Board of Appeals consists of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor for terms of three (3) years. There are no special qualifications for membership except residency in Cedar Rapids. Some of the categories of experience that are helpful to be on the Housing Board are: landlord, property manager, realtor, attorney, construction inspector, contractor, maintenance person, renter and appraiser.  Those interested in serving on the Housing Board of Appeals may submit a completed City application by following the steps found here.

Current members:

  • Albert Aossey (2025)
  • Lana Baldus (2025)
  • Amanda Burns (2024)  
  • Steve Dunham (2026)
  • Barbara Kintzle (2026) 
  • Colette Molumby (2024)
  • Rick Monthie (2024)


 Terms are three years and expire on June 30th of the year in parenthesis above.
© 2024  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login